Hopeful But Humble

We have received a hint of the future from our Alderman, Ted Matlak.  We have been scheduled to renovate our playlot in 2008, hopefully in the spring.  While there are no guarantees until they break ground, we are hoping that this plan will hold up over the next 11-12 months.  Based on that, we have sent out letters to businesses soliciting donations to complete our financing plan.  The finance/fundraising committee will be busy this year getting the remaining elements of funding in place, including starting our neighborhood brick drive.  If any of you are interested in taking a role in this, or if you know of any neighbor who would be a good finance committee member, please let us know!

Amy and Sheila

This entry was posted in All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hopeful But Humble

  1. Dapper on Draper says:

    Amy and Shelia:

    Great News. I just hope everyone knows that the only reason we are getting the promise of cash is because Ted Matlak is scared of being beat in this election.

    I say take the money and vote him out of office.

    Too Little, Too Late, Too Bad Ted, You Lost My Vote.

  2. Esther says:

    I’m so happy to hear that our little neighborhood park is getting a shot of energy and dollars, but i have to agree with “Dapper.” Where was Matlak when other elected officials were making this a priority before? The timing is fishy, and so is he. “We have received a hint of the future from our Alderman, Ted Matlak” – i’m sorry, but i hope the future of our neighborhood doesn’t include him. I’m supporting Scott.

  3. Too Little says:

    Ditto, I want the park fixed up as well, but I am offended that he thinks he can buy us off because he feels his job is threatened.

  4. Jeff Kerr says:

    Oh my gosh, comments from actual readers. Thanks for stopping by. And all along I thought I was just talking to myself.

  5. Esther says:

    Thanks for providing this forum, Jeff. I like to keep up with what’s going on in our community, but I usually don’t weigh in unless I feel like my (dissonant) voice is particularly important to an issue. The fact that the Alderman has been less-than-responsive to neighbors like me up until the point that he had an actual challenge angers me to no end.

  6. Jeff Kerr says:

    Esther, understand your frustration but it looks like the playlot improvements are moving forward to the benefit of the entire neighborhood. Would welcome your participation in the project. Hope to see you at the next playlot meeting.

  7. TGiese says:

    Get this scumbag Matlak out of office. Go Scott!

Leave a Reply

